Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap?

6 Mar

So the other day I was bouncing around the interwebs and I found this review of Hercules that really bashed it. I was surprised that there was someone out there who really didn’t like the movie, and looking at the comments and around other websites more, I actually found that there is a good amount of people who dislike Hercules.

I found this to be really shocking, as Hercules was one of my personal favorites. One of the criticisms was of the muses, and how they may be hard to understand or just didn’t fit in with the overall movie. I never really understood this criticism, as I thought that the muses gave Hercules a distinct feel. Instead of the music being this big Broadway style, which we had seen countless times before, the muses helped give the movie a Motown like feel, which is something I had not seen in a Disney movie before and enjoyed. Does Motown quite fit with Greek mythology? Not necessarily, but since when does Broadway fit in the jungle or in the streets of Agrabah?

The other major criticism that really boggled my mind was that the story wasn’t at all like the actual story of Hercules. Well no duh!

Let’s be honest, since when is any Disney movie a blow by blow recap of the original? They are all inspired by the source material, but never a recreation of them. I know that this is a general criticism of Disney films, but this one always baffled me in terms of Hercules, mainly because it would come from people who had no problem with say Pocahontas, but did take offense to this one.

The story will be changed for Disney. They want a happy ending and it still needs to be kid friendly. If you didn’t expect this, then clearly Disney movies are not for you.

My reasons for liking Hercules are simple. I love the music, for one. Go the Distance was one of my favorites growing up, and Won’t Say I’m in Love (seen below) has definitely grown on me as I’ve gotten older, from the storytelling lyrics to the unique Motown sound from the heroine.

I also just loved the characters. Hades is easily the most charismatic bad guy in the Disney family of villains, Phil is always good for a laugh, and I have always loved Hercules. The guy has this superhuman strength, and yet all he wants is just somewhere where he feels that he fits in. I can’t tell you why, but something about that resonates with me.

So yeah, it baffles me why Hercules gets picked on so much. For my money, it’s still one of my favorites, and really, I don’t care what everyone else says. What about you? Like or dislike Hercules?

 

10 Responses to “Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap?”

  1. andrewmclarty91 March 6, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I agree. If you are going to watch Disney movies expecting to get a accurate recap of folk lore than you might as well ask a toddler to explain Inception. The music was really catchy and i felt it was a great rendition of a tired and ancient piece of Greek Mythology. Though I do feel that other movies like Pocahontas and Hunchback are mostly inaccurate you have to realize children don’t want to see a Native American sleep with every colonist in Virginia or a disfigured bell ringer kidnap women and keep them hostage in his tower. I guess everyone is a critic :[

  2. stayvictorious March 6, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I completely agree. Hercules was one of my favorite Disney films when I was a kid. I think the issue with reviews and Hercules is an issue that most film have with reviewers. It is taken too seriously. Hercules is an adaptation of an old tale, which does not mean it must follow the original story to the tee. People dont like change, so when an adaptation makes a change to the original story, people freak out. The kid who watch the film are the ones who are within the target audience, and I doubt they care.

  3. thataintallfolks March 19, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    I too am a big fan of Hercules, and occasionally find myself listening to “Zero to Hero” as a warm-up song. I agree that if historians want to watch a film that captures the essence of a historical figure or era, Disney is not t the route they should take. Even when Hercules is training, it has more of a “Rocky” feel than a mythological one. It’s too bad Disney can’t reach back into it’s back of tricks and create more films like this one and others during the Renaissance era; new films similar to this would be as popular today as then!

  4. animusintolife March 25, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    This…also really shocks me. I assumed Hercules was a hit since I’ve heard more yay’s than nay’s for it. Still, people just have differing opinions, I can understand the music since it is odd (although don’t get me wrong, I like it too). But people really complain about accuracy?
    It is not just Disney, there are rarely any movies out there that are accurate to its book or real life source material. Not to say that there aren’t accuracies, people seem very happy with the Game of Thrones or Harry Potter adaptations as well as The King’s Speech. Sure, Disney was way off for the Hunchback of Notre Dame and lets face it, Alice in Wonderland isn’t entirely accurate either but I still enjoy them having read the original texts. Besides Disney, The Secret of Nimh isn’t accurate to its book, Sherlock Holmes definantly not, and Star Trek as well. Anything adapted into a film is rarely accurate to its original source for various reason: director, budget, time constrictions. etc but for film I’m really surprised that’s an issue. I have many complaints with the Batman film adaptations being a comic book fan but I still watched and enjoyed them, letting the accuracy go for simple and separate film enjoyment. If not for that reason, I agree with you, it’s Disney animation, its going to have a certain happy-ending flair to it that shouldn’t shock its audience at this point. Okay…rant over, but again, people just have different opinions, there’s always going to be someone who disagrees. Its what makes life interesting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Other Animation Blogs i have Commented on « andrewmclarty91 - March 6, 2012

    […] Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap? by jcampion […]

  2. Comments on other blogs: Updated « andrewmclarty91 - April 10, 2012

    […] Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap? by jcampion […]

  3. Blog Post #9.75: Comments for Week 6-19 « thataintallfolks - April 11, 2012

    […] https://jcampione.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/post-6-why-does-hercules-get-a-bad-rap/ […]

  4. Revised Comments « andrewmclarty91 - April 24, 2012

    […] Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap? by jcampion […]

  5. Comments « andrewmclarty91 - April 30, 2012

    […] Post #6: Why Does Hercules Get a Bad Rap? by jcampion […]

  6. Make-up Comments: « stayvictorious - May 11, 2012

    […] https://jcampione.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/post-6-why-does-hercules-get-a-bad-rap/#comments […]

Leave a Reply

